Login NowClose 
Sign In to newsexaminer.com           
Forgot Password
or if you have not registered since 8/22/18
Click Here to Create an Account

Republicans win mayor, all council seats


Republicans swept all races in Tuesday's Connersville city election.

Chad Frank, the Republican challenger, emerged as the city's new mayor, taking 1,234 votes to beat incumbent Harold Gordon, who took 962 votes.

Republicans defeated two incumbent Democrats to win all the seats on City Council.

Sam Harvey, a former Republican county chairman, said he grew up in Connersville and has been active in politics all of his life, and does not remember a time when Republicans controlled all City Hall offices.

District 1: Republican Clarence Werner, 254; Democrat incumbent Connie Durham, 210.

District 2: Republican Jennifer Barrett, 347; Democrat Jerry Pennington, 130.

District 3: Republican Brian Robb, 184; Democrat incumbent Debbie Montgomery, 117.

District 4: Republican Bill Gray, 314; Democrat Jack Willis, 139.

At-large: Republicans Mike Bishop, 1,374, and Diana Phillips, 1,315; Democrats John Gibson, 665, and Christopher Lephew, 630.

Running unopposed, Republican clerk-treasurer Rosemary Brown had 1,826 votes, and for Council District 5, Republican David Nutty won 384 votes.

County Clerk Lisa Witt, supervising an election for the first time, said the election went smoothly. She had been hopeful that at least 30% of eligible voters would cast ballots. Voter turnout actually was 2,255 or 33.83%. 

Voting places closed at 6 p.m. By 6:15, results were already being counted, and all polling places had been counted by 7:15 p.m.