Login NowClose 
Sign In to newsexaminer.com           
Forgot Password
or if you have not registered since 8/22/18
Click Here to Create an Account

School board election has 3 candidates

By BOB HANSEN - bhansen@newsexaminer.com

One member of the Fayette County School Board has decided against running for re-election and one person has filed paperwork to replace him.

A total of three people have filed their paperwork declaring their candidacies in the upcoming school board election, according to Melinda Sudhoff, Fayette County clerk.

Warren Taylor, one of two members from District 3, has decided against standing for re-election.

“It’s somebody’s else’s turn,” Taylor said Wednesday afternoon. “I’ve been on the school board for 12 1/2 years and I’ve learned a lot.”

Two people represent District 3 on the board. There are two declared candidates to represent that district. Dennis Perkins, a former Connersville assistant police chief, has filed to run in District 3, along with Chris Hunt, an incumbent who filed his candidacy earlier. District 3 includes all of Connersville Township except precinct 11, and Harrison Township precincts 1, 2, 3, 4 and 6.

Ann Kirschner, the current board member in District 4, has also filed for re-election. District 4 includes Connersville Township precinct 11 and Jennings and Waterloo townships.

The filing deadline is not later than noon Friday, Aug. 24, in the courthouse office of the Fayette County clerk, 401 Central Ave.

Voting will be part of the General Election on Nov. 6. Candidates for school board do not run on their political party affiliation.