Login NowClose 
Sign In to newsexaminer.com           
Forgot Password
or if you have not registered since 8/22/18
Click Here to Create an Account

Two chosen teachers of the year

By BOB HANSEN - bhansen@newsexaminer.com

In a departure from past practice, Fayette County School Corporation has chosen two Teachers of the Year.

Gabe Nobbe is the Secondary Teacher of the Year and Shari Phegley, Elementary Teacher of the Year. A change in state procedures allowed the district to choose one teacher from each level for the honor, said Kim Corsaro, assistant superintendent. The Fayette County school board approved their selection Tuesday.

Each year, the Indiana Department of Education recognizes outstanding classroom teachers from across the state. One will be chosen to represent Indiana teachers at the national level. In Fayette County, the public is invited to nominate outstanding teachers, who are then reviewed by a local selection committee.

Phegley is a kindergarten teacher at Eastview Elementary, where she started her career as a Head Start teacher in 1994. She moved to kindergarten in 1998. She holds a bachelor of science degree in education from Indiana University and a master of education from Indiana Wesleyan University. She’s active in Delta Kappa Gamma, Relay for Life and Garden Club.

Nobbe began his career in 2002, teaching agriculture and biology at CHS, where he continues to teach. He is a member of Connersville City Council, the Parks Board, Area Planning Commission and is a Cub Scout leader. He holds an associate degree from Vincennes University, and a bachelor of science in agriculture and master of science degree in agriculture from Purdue University.

School Superintendent Scott Collins said he and Corsaro went to each teacher’s classroom to announce the selection to students.

At Phegley’s room, Collins said the students were very engaged in learning when they arrived and seemed as if they did not want to be interrupted for the announcement. They applauded their teacher and then went right back to work, a testimony to Phegley’s work, he said.

At the high school, “Looking at the kids in Gabe’s classroom, there’s a lot of love and respect for him,” Collins said.

In other business Tuesday, the school board:

• Approved the appointment of Kelly Pflum as early childhood education director, replacing Lori Boggs, who is retiring this spring. Pflum is a teacher at Maplewood Elementary.

• Approved hiring the following teachers: Brad Cutter, Maplewood; Amber Hale and Erin Miller, Fayette Central; Sydney Holland, music at Fayette Central and Grandview; Amy King, math at Connersville Middle; Zac Rea and Joy Davis, special education at Connersville High; Sydnee Toschlog-Jobe, TV/media at CHS; Jennifer Clifford, music at CMS; and Kelly Dungan, biology at CHS.

• Received resignations from certified staff members Suzanne Brown, Leah Fishman, Tina Jacobik, Kaitlyn Lock, Nancy Meyers, Amy Mirlisena, Melissa Simpkins, Bethany Sinkhorn, Lindsay Toler and Kandais Williams.

• Approved a $5 a week rate increase for Magic Moments Child Care Center. New rates will be $91.50 for up to 40 hours a week or $99.50 for 41-45 hours per week. Tuition has not increased since 2008.